Game Gears: fixed!

I finally got around to replacing the bad capacitors in my sister’s Sega Game Gear, as well as my own.  I ordered the replacement capacitors from Mouser on Monday, and they arrived Thursday.  Most of yesterday I was removing old ones, cleaning up the boards, and soldering the new ones in place.  I also got some white LEDs, with which I plan to do some backlighting experiments soon.  I got two different types, one brighter, the other less focused.  I’ll have to try it with both to see which I like more, but I’m guessing it’ll be the less focused one.  I could also try diffusing them in various ways, such as sandpaper, a translucent plastic tube (white drinking straw!) between them, etc.

I had forgotten how much I liked my Game Gear.  I got it for Christmas when I was…6-ish?…years old, I think.  We have tons of games for those things (do not be fooled, Sonic 2 is nothing like the Genesis version), and about a year ago we found the two player link cable for them, so now that both consoles are working, we can finally play games against each other.  In related news, my sister kicks my ass at Mortal Kombat.  That game, or at least the Game Gear version of it, is extremely esoteric.  She figured out how to shoot some weird rings at me, and all I could do is kick and punch.  Oh well, maybe DuckDuckGo can help me figure out that crazy game.

Leave a Reply

