Back from SC with a BeagleBone case

A wooden box with light sides and a dark lid.I just got back from a one week vacation to North Myrtle Beach, SC visiting my grandmother.  The whole time we were there, I was looking for potential BeagleBone cases everywhere I could.  I finally found one when we stopped at a flea market on the way home.  It’s a very nice wooden box that’s just about a perfect size for the BeagleBone, a cape or two, and some extra room for WiFi modules, etc.

 

A wooden box with light sides, its dark lid removed and sitting next to it.To open the box, you simply press down on one end of the lid.  The other end rocks up, and the lid can be easily lifted off of the box.

 

 

A wooden box with light sides and its lid removed.  There is a BeagleBone computer sitting inside the box.As mentioned before, the BeagleBone fits in quite nicely.  Here you can see the ‘Bone sitting in the box (it’s sitting so high because I’m temporarily holding standoffs onto the board using screws that are way too long).

 

 

A wooden box with light sides and its lid removed.  A BeagleBone computer sits inside.And finally, a better view of how the ‘Bone fits in the box.

 

 

 

The box wasn’t cheap ($23), but it was hand-made by the guy who sold it to me, it seems well-built, and it looks very nice.  I thought it seemed like a fair deal, so I bought it.  I’m not quite sure how I’ll mount the ‘Bone inside, though.  The box’s sides are too thick for most panel-mount connectors I’ve found at reasonable prices, so it might be best to just drill holes carefully for all the connectors on one side, and leave the other side’s connectors internal.  I also might want to remove the felt from the bottom of the box before drilling holes to mount the BeagleBone.  Or maybe I could just drill the holes right through the felt.  That wouldn’t have any terrible consequences, right?

3 Responses to Back from SC with a BeagleBone case

  1. Janis says:

    Any chance you remember who the guy/company was that sold you that box? I used to live in SC, now in CA, and had once bought a box like that for recipe cards. I really, really want another one but I bought mine from a Fall Harvest in Pendleton, SC and can’t remember the guy’s name.

  2. Ratfink says:

    I don’t remember his name either, but he was selling in the flea market in the middle of highway 17 just north of Cherry Grove. He had a couple more boxes similar to it, one of which was somewhat larger than this one. I hope this helps you track him down.

Leave a Reply

